

Minutes of BCS Bedford Branch AGM 2006

Held at the Hulbert Room, St Andrews Church, Bedford On 29 June 2006

Present:

Shane Barnes Chairman
Bob Bethell Secretary

Richard Maddison Committee

Robert Lincoln

David Briggs

Apologies:

Paul Stewart Treasurer

Anthony Bodle

Patrick Collins

Sam Dagash Committee
Clive Savory Committee

Jerry Crick

Minutes of 2005 AGM:

The previous minutes were accepted as a true record.

Chairman's Report:

The Chairman welcomed everyone to the AGM.

The Chairman had to report that the branch committee had received resignations from Sam Dagash as YPG representative due to moving to London, and from Gary Yorke who had moved to Australia. Shane said that, if elected, this would be his last year as Chairman as he would prefer to liaise with schools and universities to develop grass-roots interest in the BCS. He would seek help from the branch mentor, Mary Clarkson, to rebuild the committee.

The branch had arranged for an award and a past-president of the BCS as a speaker to open the Independent Learning Centre at John Bunyan School, a Specialist School in Mathematics and Computing.

Sam Dagash had helped with Freshers Fairs and Higher Education Open Evenings in Luton and Bedford, and links had been established with the Universities of Bedfordshire and of Cranfield.

Four very good meetings had been held: Dr Bob Jones of Cranfield University presented the contribution of satellite imagery to protecting the environment; Michael Wilson from BCS HQ spoke on CPD and SFIA/ISM; Russell May fascinated a well attended meeting on computer forensics; Peter Parkes and Frank Renouf enlightened us about eGovernment.

The next year is the 50^{th} anniversary of the BCS and ideas were sought from the branch for suitable events.

On the Society side, the HQ had relocated to North Star House and the new systems and website were working well.

Treasurer's Report:

The Treasurer had sent his report via the Chairman.

The branch allocation had been reduced to £1199.60, in line with our rate of expenditure and in accordance with the new processes at HQ.

Election of Officers and Committee:

The existing officers were re-elected unopposed. Bob Lincoln and David Briggs were welcomed onto the branch committee. Other committee members were re-elected apart from those who had resigned during the year as reported above.

End of Meeting. The Chairman thanked Richard Maddison for arranging the venue and closed the meeting.